Me, Myself And Irene

“No art passes our conscience in the way film does,
and goes directly to our feelings,
deep down into the dark rooms of our souls”
[Ingmar Bergman]

The first time I ever saw a movie I was 2.
I watched “The Lady and The Hound”, or so my parents tell me.
Once the last credit went by on the screen, I asked them to hit rewind on our old VHS player and let me watch it again. And again, and again and again.
They say the first time people saw “L’arrivée d’un train en la gare de La Ciotat” by the Lumière brothers, they got so scared that some of them even screamed believing the train would have come out of the screen and kept running.
To them it was like magic.

I guess my reason for falling in love with it can be reconnected to that astonishment I felt watching moving images unfolding great stories I could only imagine or dream about.
Movies pose no limits to the human mind. Everything you can imagine you can shoot.
Especially nowadays technology has enabled us to recreate virtually any scenario and make it as believable as it could be.
Through movies I can travel in the past and the future, go to Alaska or take a space shuttle to Mars. I can meet Napoleon and admire the greatness of the Roman empire.
I can cry for lost loves, cherish for a soldier that comes home and watch other people lives, discovering their culture and, most of all, realize we’re not so different after all.

To me, that’s what cinema is. A journey through space and time where imagination has no boundaries and there are no social etiquettes or written rules.
Anything and everything can happen in a movie.

What else is there to say about me?
I’m a ballerina and a mermaid.
I read and I write.
I’m a huge nerdIrene 2 and sometimes take Elvish writing classes.
I like drinking and ordering in restaurants.
I go to the Opera but I can’t sing nor read music.
I speak English but I’m Italian.
I’m studying French but don’t know anybody in France to talk to.
I love my family because they taught me the importance of freedom.
I studied Economics but wish I knew more about philosophy and literature.
I work in the Entertainment Industry and that makes me happy.
I didn’t like the Jim Carrey movie but always exploit the title.
Because this really is me: Me, Myself and Irene.

Leave a comment